The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018: Nominees, date, venue & all you need to know


The Best FIFA Football awards is an annual event organised by world football governing body FIFA to recognise the most exceptional performances in the game of football over the course of a playing season.

Since its fission from the FIFA Ballon d’or awards to become known as ‘The Best FIFA Football awards’, the ceremony has being held twice, the most recent at the London Palladium in 2017.

The awards ceremony recognises individuals and/or groups that have been most-outstanding from July 3, 2017 to July 15, 2018 in the following categories; Best Men’s Player, Best Goalkeeper, Best Men’s Coach, Best Women’s Player, Best Women’s Coach, the FIFA Fair Play Award, FIFA Puskas Award, FIFA Fan Award and the FIFA FIFPro World11.

Who makes it?

The Best Men’s Player has drawn the most attention with Cristiano Ronaldo aiming to take home the Best Men’s player prize for the third time in a row, this time without the presence of eternal rival Lionel Messi in contention.

Instead, Mo Salah and Europe’s Best player Luka Modric will slug it out against Cristiano Ronaldo to claim the top prize after reaching new heights in the 2017-2018 season.

Ronaldo guided Real Madrid to their third UCL title in three years, finishing the continental campaign as the highest goalscorer with 15 goals.

Luka Modric played an integral part in Real Madrid’s run to a third successive UCL crown. He captained Croatia to their first FIFA world cup final this summer, finishing second behind France. Modric finished the tournament as the world cup’s best player.

Related:  Balogun ready to fight for Brighton & Hove Albion place

Mohamed Salah was unlucky to not cap an outstanding debut campaign with Liverpool with a title, losing in the Champions League final to Real Madrid. The Egyptian scored a record-breaking 32 Premier League goals last season.

Lionel Messi misses out on the top three this year after a quarter-final exit in the UEFA Champions League and an underwhelming world cup campaign in Russia scuppered his chances despite winning the domestic double with Barcelona.

France duo, Antoine Griezmann and Raphael Varane also miss out on the three-man shortlist after featuring in France’s run to world cup triumph and helping their club sides, Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid to Europa League and Champions League glory respectively.

Their compatriot Kylian Mbappe will also have to wait for his chances to claim the Men’s player prize in subsequent years after an impressive individual campaign where he claimed the Best Young player award at the FIFA world cup amongst other honours.

Premier League trio Harry Kane, Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard also make the top-10 shortlist.

Here’s the shortlist for the FIFA Football Awards

The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid / Portugal)
  2. Luka Modric (Real Madrid / Croatia)
  3. Mo Salah (Liverpool / Egypt)
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  1. Didier Deschamps (France National team)
  2. Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)
  3. Zlatko Dalic (Croatia National team)
The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  1. Marta (Orlando Pride / Brazil)
  2. Ada Hegerberg (Lyon / Norway)
  3. Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon / Germany)
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  1. Asako Takakura ( Japan National team)
  2. Sarina Wiegman ( Netherlands National team)
  3. Reynald Pedros (Lyon)
The Best FIFA Goalkeeper
  1. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur / France)
  2. Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea / Belgium)
  3. Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City / Denmark)
FIFA Puskás Award
  1. Denis Cheryshev – RUSSIA vs Croatia; World Cup quarter-final; July 7, 2018.
  2. Gareth Bale – REAL MADRID vs Liverpool; Champions League final; May 26, 2018.
  3. Cristiano Ronaldo – REAL MADRID vs Juventus; Champions League quarter-final; April 3, 2018.
  4. Benjamin Pavard – FRANCE vs Argentina; World Cup last 16; June 30, 2018.
  5. Riley McGree – NEWCASTLE JETS vs Melbourne City, A-League, April 27, 2018.
  6. Lazaros Christodoulopoulos – AEK ATHENS vs Olympiacos; Greek Superleague; September 24, 2017.
  7. Lionel Messi – ARGENTINA vs Nigeria; World Cup group stage; June 26, 2018.
  8. Mohamed Salah – LIVERPOOL vs Everton; Premier League, December 10, 2017.
  9. Giorgian de Arrascaeta – CRUZEIRO vs America MG; Campeonato Mineiro; February 4, 2018.
  10. Ricardo Quaresma – PORTUGAL vs Iran; World Cup group stage; June 25, 2018.
FIFA Fan Award
  1. Sebastián Carrera – Puerto Montt supporter.
  2. Japan and Senegal world cup fans.
  3. Peru world cup fans.
FIFA Fair Play Award
The FIFA Fair Play Award is given in recognition of exemplary fair play behaviour on the pitch or from a football fan. The winner will be revealed at the FIFA Football Awards gala. The Fair Play award was last won by Togolese player Francis Kone, who performed life-saving first aid treatment on goalkeeper Martin Berkovec following a collision during a Czech First League game.
FIFA FIFPro World 11
The FIFPro World 11 awards the top eleven players of the year. Thousands of professional football players select the best player in each playing position in a 4-3-3 formation. Last year’s FIFPro XI: Gianluigi Buffon; Dani Alves, Leonardo Bonucci, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo; Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Neymar.


Related:  Sporting's Loss, Atletico's Gain As Gelson Martins Arrives On Free Transfer

Voting & Selection

Fans are allowed to vote for their preferred nominees in the Best FIFA Men’s Player, Best FIFA Women’s Player, Best FIFA Men’s Coach and Best FIFA Women’s Coach awards, FIFA Puskás Award, FIFA Fan Award categories.

Fan votes make up one-quarter of the final vote, with FIFA’s selection committee finalising the decisions.

The remaining three-quarter of votes are evenly distributed between the national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, national team captains and a select group of football journalists from those countries.

Date & Venue

Photo by Catherine Ivill – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony is scheduled to hold in London on Monday, 24th September 2018.