Ballon d’Or 2018: Premier League Stars, Aguero and Allison Among First Five Award Nominees


Premier League stars, Sergio Aguero and Allison Becker have been announced alongside Karim Benzema, Gareth Bale and Edinson Cavani as the first five nominees for the prestigious Ballon d’Or award 2018.

Every year, the Ballon d’Or award is always looked forward to. The glamour and glitz attached to it can only be rivalled by FIFA The Best’s Awards (which was a part of it between 2010 and 2015 before their separation).

The first fine nominees for the award has been revealed as the award’s season hits the spotlight. And two stars from clubs in the English Premier league were nominated; Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero and Liverpool’s goalie, Allison Becker.

Related:  Everton make Digne move

Sergio Aguero had a decent season with Manchester City in 2017/2018 as they emerged as the winner of the English top flight. He scored 21 goals in the process. He also featured brilliantly for the Argentines at the Russian World Cup.

On the other hand, Allison Becker was nominated due to his performances for his previous Serie A club, AS Roma as well as his wonderful showing with Brazil at the World Cup in Russia this Summer.

Real Madrid’s Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema are also on the list. They both helped the Galacticos to the third consecutive Champions League victory in the 2017/2018 season under Zinedine Zidane. In the final match against Liverpool in the competition, they were both on the scoresheet.

Related:  Ex-United defender reveals how Red Devils can stop Hazard

Paris Saint-Germain’s forward, Edinson Cavani is the final nominee on this list. He was a key member of the PSG team that won a French domestic treble. Also, he was instrumental in the Uruguay team that made it to Quarterfinalsnals of the 2018 World Cup.

A lot of eyes will be on the Ballon d’Or especially now that the World Best Player hegemony between Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi has been broken by Luka Modric who won FIFA The Best’s Player of the Year award.

The past winners of the Ballon d’Or award in the 21st century before the Ronaldo and Messi duopoly are: Luís Figo (2000), Michael Owen (2001), Brazilian Ronaldo (2002), Pavel Nedved (2003), Andriy Shevchenko (2004), Ronaldinho (2005), Fabio Cannavaro (2006) and Kaka (2007).

Related:  Leicester City sign Algerian winger Rachid Ghezzal

Ever since then, the Portuguese No. 7 and Argentine No. 10 have dominated the football ecosystem since 2008 to date.

So, will the 10-year Ballon d’Or dominance between the two super footballers come to an end this year? We’ll have to wait and see.

More updates regarding the Ballon d’Or nominees will be brought to you as they are unveiled.